Getting files off a Nokia G10

This was a pain. I went into developer tools and tried turning on USB transfer, tried setting it to PTP mode, tried plugging it in to a Windows computer, into a Linux box — simply could not see the pictures on the phone. Could not get it to appear on any computer at all, despite lots of googling and trying things that are alleged to work.

Typical Linux errors included dmesg output like this:

[12758.619103] usb 2-1: new full-speed USB device number 113 using xhci_hcd
[12758.619276] usb 2-1: Device not responding to setup address.
[12758.827267] usb 2-1: Device not responding to setup address.
[12759.035069] usb 2-1: device not accepting address 113, error -71
[12759.035142] usb usb2-port1: unable to enumerate USB device

USB-C to A adapter. $2 on ebay.

In the end, I used a USB-C to USB-A adapter, plugged an old USB flash drive into it, and the phone’s file manager saw the drive and I could use the file manager to copy all the pictures onto the USB stick.

I should say I have been able to ‘see’ other phones, including a Nokia 1.3, so whatever the problem is, it is (in my experience) unique to this phone.

 

Author: Darren

I'm a scientist by training, currently working as a writer, trainer and editor.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.