Cygwin without Windows administrator access

This is really simple, but useful. Especially since I have a work-provided computer and the IT people don’t give us members of the proletariat administrator access. ‘Cos, you know, we’re unreliable and might do something crazy. Now, I could get back at them by wasting their time getting them to do every little thing for me. (‘Ticket #12456: I’d like a different screensaver picture, please.’) But that’s petty and not good for my reputation. So it’s useful to look at installing things without admin rights. MikTeX works that way, and so does cygwin. Even if they will install cygwin for me (they would, I’m pretty sure), I don’t want to have to put in a job request every time I want to install a cygwin package. Fortunately, it’s no big deal. It’s designed that way.

(A) Went to cygwin.com and downloaded setup*.exe

(* is just x86 or x86_64, depending on your bits)

(B) Created C:\Users\username\installs\cygwin and put it in there

Opened a command window (cmd.exe). In the command windows, typed:

H:\> C:
C:\> cd C:\Users\username\installs\cygwin
C:\Users\username\installs\cygwin> setup-x86_64.exe --no-admin

Then clicked through in the usual way. This installed cygwin to C:\cygwin64

For future use, I created a batch file, cygwin_update.bat

and all that is in it is:

C:\Users\username\installs\cygwin>setup-x86_64.exe --no-admin

and I put it in my path. Now, also simple to make a Windows shortcut

  1. Right click on setup-x86_64.exe, select ‘Make shortcut’

  2. Right click on setup-x86_64.exe - Shortcut, select ‘Properties’

  3. Look in the ‘Target’ box. It should say something like:

    1. C:\Users\username\installs\cygwin\setup-x86_64.exe

  4. Just add the flag to the end of this

    1. C:\Users\darren\installs\cygwin\setup-x86_64.exe --no-admin

  5. Rename the shortcut to something more useful, like ‘Cygwin Setup

  6. To update or install new packages, double click the shortcut.

The batch file and the short cut.

That’s it.

Tags: , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

