A VGA font in a terminal emulator

How’d I do it? It was quite a while ago and I can’t remember, I can’t recall. I’m trying to reconstruct it…

I grew up in the IBM compatible, DOS era. That VGA font that you got by default in DOS still, to this day, looks ‘right’ to me on a terminal screen, even after years of using Linux and Mac OS X and what not. I know it is not a great font in numerous ways, but I am so familiar I don’t even see it. It’s invisible, like a good writing tool should be. So I wanted to use it in my terminal window on Debian. It’s not very hard, maybe. I can’t remember if these were all the things I needed to do…

I am using mrxvt because I like the simplicity of it. This is my very simple mrxvt configuration file, .mrxvtrc:

Mrxvt.sl: 65535
MRxvt.ps: true

Mrxvt.xft:                      1
Mrxvt.xftFont:                  Perfect DOS VGA 437 Win
Mrxvt.xftSize:                  16
Mrxvt.xftAntialias:             1

Mrxvt.saveLines:                10000

And I have aliased the command mrxvt to this string:

alias mrxvt='mrxvt-full -fade 50 -ps -title " " -tn rxvt'

So to get the VGA font, I first went and found a good X windows font, called “Perfect DOS VGA 437 Win”, which is a ttf (TrueType font) when I unzip the archive. I put the file (called Perfect_DOS_VGA_437_Win.ttf) in a subdirectory of my .fonts directory

1 create ~/.fonts/perfect
2 copy files into it
3 mkfontdir ~/.fonts/perfect/
4 xset fp+ /home/goossens/.fonts/perfect/
5 xset fp rehash
6 fc-cache

I put it under ‘perfect’, and ran fc-cache to update the list of available fonts:

$ ls ~/.fonts/perfect
Perfect_DOS_VGA_437_Win.ttf

$ fc-cache -f -v .fonts

And, on a modern Linux system, that seems to be all that is required. Except I do notice that my .fonts.conf file looks like this (also serves as an example of what the font looks like in action):

Perfect DOS VGA 437 Win font used in mrxvt managed by FLWM.

Perfect DOS VGA 437 Win font used in mrxvt managed by FLWM.

Notice that the line at the end lists my local ~/.fonts directory? I think that might be important, but like I said it was a long time ago and I’m not sure.

So there you have it. Finding Perfect_DOS_VGA_437_Win.ttf somewhere on the web and putting it in your ~/.fonts directory and making sure that that directory is listed in your ~/.fonts.conf file and then changing the font selection line in the config file for whichever terminal emulator you are using might or might not let you use a font you don’t like.

Fonty McFontface.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

