NaNoWriMo 2016: InNoReMo

Well, I posted on NaNoWriMo in 2014 and 2015 so I thought I ought to in 2016 even though I’m not doing it this year. Why not do it this year?…

…Because I already don’t revise and rewrite enough. I have done very little with the 100,000 words that are the legacy of he last two years, and while you can’t polish a turd, I need to ensure that they are irredeemable before I erase them from existence and churn out more verbiage. And if they are not irredeemable I should do some work on them.

So, for me this is not NaNoWriMo, it is perhaps NaNoRewriMo. And given that the event it now international, it should really be InNoRewriMo, but that is even less pronounceable than the original. ‘InNoReMo’?

(Note to event organisers in the USA: ‘The USA’ is not synonymous with ‘the world’. Events that happen outside the USA are not ‘national’ USA events, and when only teams from the USA are eligible to compete, it is not a ‘World Series’.)

I stand by my conclusion that the event has some value but only for people who have reasonable expectations. Should one of the 50k blodges of text I blatted out in previous years turn into something decent, the event will have done something worthwhile for me. Since I wrote them largely to gain some idea of how I can handle a longer narrative, I got some useful experience. Since I did not write them expecting to produce salable copy, I was not disappointed when I did indeed produce drek.

But that’s enough drek for now.

 

Toons.

Tags: , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

