Some (Sort of) Science: Monte Carlo Modelling of Single-Crystal Diffuse Scattering from Intermetallics

Well, I got an invitation to write a paper for a journal. The journal was Metals. The request was to write something for a special issue called “Metals Challenged by Neutron and Synchrotron Radiation”.

Some random screengrab.

Some random screengrab.

For a while I was convinced that I lacked anything suitable.  But I did some reading, and I was working a little bit on a relevant problem — diffuse scattering from CePdSb.  Unfortunately, the analysis of the data was not very far advanced.

However.

As I read around the topic I realised that the diffuse scattering methods I’ve been working on were not all that much discussed in the metals community.  Now, diffuse scattering and highly advanced methods in crystallography are common in metallurgy and the study of metals — no question there.  And, as I mention in the article, many of the most important works in the field of short-range order we done using metallic systems.  Metals have the wonderful advantage that it is often possible to grow fairly large crystals, and they are also a very important class of materials.

However, there was not much evidence that the particular methods I’ve worked on and developed over the years were being used on metallic systems, so I decided to use the model I had (part) developed for CePdSb to demonstrate (1) how one can model diffuse scattering from metallics and (2) what kinds of diffraction effects one sees in the patterns when short-range order of different kinds is present.

Hence I came up with a technique-focused article that was recently accepted.  Metals is also open access (which I did not have to pay for, being invited), so it is an opportunity to get the work out there and not behind a paywall.

Another screengrab, this time of the pdf of the paper.

Another screengrab, this time of the pdf of the paper.

 

Since the paper is open access, I won’t include any of the pictures or whatnot here, because anyone who is interested can go and have a look, and if you’d like to ask me any questions just drop me a line by email or on this blog or whatever.

Thanks to Klaus-Dieter Liss for the invitation and Matthias Gutmann for the CePdSb.

 

Related, but not too closely.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

