My new toy.

It’s here and on my desk… my new toy is a…number crunching computer for Monte Carlo modelling of materials.

Intel 6th-Gen i7 6700K SSD DDR4 4.0GHz CPU, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 2TB SATA III 6GB/s HDD,N600 Wireless Dual Band PCI-Express Network Adapter with 2 Antennae. (Just a cut and paste from the specs.)

It's just a box.

It’s just a box.

 

Ordered it from D&D Computer Technology Pty Ltd, and delivery was pretty quick. At my work the standard Linux ‘solution’ is RHEL, so it is running RHEL 6.7 (the IT guys here don’t like 7 — it uses the controversial systemd, for one thing…)

Wireless internet so I can put it wherever I want to.

Compared to our previous generation of boxen (4+ years old), it runs a fairly typical Monte Carlo simulation in 20m55s instead of 27m21s, which is a useful but not massive improvement, which is really the result of code that is really just a single, single-threaded process which results in it scaling more with the clock speed than anything else.

I’ve put LaTeX on the box, but I am going to manage it via TeXLive’s tlmgr rather than RHEL’s package management, so we’ll see how that works out…

 

At the other end of the spectrum.

Tags: , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

