Removing Windows Apps from Windows 10

Windows 10 comes with all kinds of useless rubbish, like Groove and TV and something with Xbox in the title. And when it comes to email and communications, I already have my own preferences and don’t want to use the Windows-specific solutions Microsoft touts. I am far too old fashioned to want these things, and even if they don’t take up much hard drive space, they still clutter up the next-to-useless thing that does the job of the old Start menu. (Yes, I am a reactionary who always thinks things were better in the past. Well, no, I know they weren’t but I like applications (we used to call them programs) that I already can use, since I have found that learning a new alternative is rarely worth the time spent, since the new program is invariably different but rarely any more functional.)

I will just say this:

Here at HowToGeek is the page I needed. http://www.howtogeek.com/224798/how-to-uninstall-windows-10s-built-in-apps-and-how-to-reinstall-them/.

Here’s a screenshot of it in progress.

Using Windows PowerShell to strip out cruft from Windows 10.

Using Windows PowerShell to strip out cruft from Windows 10.

So the main command is

PS C:\> Get-AppxPackage *photos* | Remove-AppxPackage

where photos is the program name — see the link for the actual names. Some include windowsstore, xboxapp and windowsphone.

I rebooted after running all the commands, and found that Mail, Calendar and Camera were listed as ‘Recently added’, so the system clearly protects those. Most of the rest remained gone, so it is a partial solution but it has helped remove some clutter.

If you are not sure how to open a PowerShell, in my case I just click on the magnifying glass in the task bar, type ‘powershell’ and search, then right click the Windows Power Shell Desktop app search result and select Run as administrator. Now, note that doing the wrong thing as administrator can screw up your computer. You can also click the ‘Windows button’ (the little blue or possibly white trapezium in the corner, win), click ‘All Apps’ then scroll down to ‘Windows PowerShell’ and run it from there.

Talking about clutter.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

