My LaTeX Primer

Well, I’ve been working on an article about LaTeX for a newsletter, and I thought a nice way of illustrating it would be to make a little document that implements some of the functionality. There’s a lot of functionality. The document does the usual stuff — indexing, glossary, bibliography, cross-referencing, images, tables, maths. It talks about editors and GUIs, compiling documents and tracking changes.

A figure from the document, based on an example in <i>gnuplot Cookbook</i> by Lee Phillips (Packt Publishing 2012).

A figure from the document, based on an example in gnuplot Cookbook by Lee Phillips (Packt Publishing 2012).

As is always the case with these things, it took a lot longer than I had planned, but on the other hand I learned a lot.  I had fun playing with \typein and then using the user’s response to choose fonts and insert different bits of content.

The source files needed to compile the document are zipped into cse_example.zip and can be found at my freebie web page. The accompanying PDF (cse_example_tx.pdf) is not the same as the version in the zip because my free server only lets me upload files < 256kB in size, and later versions got too big…

I hope it proves of some use to someone.

 

More?

Tags: , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

