Crunching pdf files

Here’s something I’ve noticed; I run Linux and I found that if I have a pdf file and I convert it to PostScript thus:

pdf2ps filename.pdf

then I convert back to pdf

ps2pdf filename.ps

I often get a smaller pdf. Most recently, it went from 312K to 229K, a reduction of about 25%. The reduction is often much bigger, or smaller…

Not too bad — it got the file under the file size limit for my freebie webserver and I was able to upload it. It’s the file cse_example_tx.pdf. Here.

Another minor aside.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

