The Sharp MZ-721 Font for use in LaTeX

Based on http://tug.ctan.org/systems/msdos/vga2mf/ and information on the Sharp MZ-721 character ROM at sharpmz.org I thought I would turn the graphics sprites into a font for LaTeX (and presumably TeX too).

To use the font in LaTeX I put together a small ‘package’ — mz.sty. I have very minimal LaTeX skills,

It’s all available at djg.4t.com (mzfont.tar.gz).

A legal note: These ROMs have been available on the ’net for years. There are emulators for the MZ-721 and almost every other (micro)computer you can think of that make use of these glyphs and no one seems to have a problem with that. I don’t know the real legal status of this ‘font’, but I imagine it is owned by Sharp Corp. if they choose to exercise their rights. No one is going to use this font, I expect, but I take no responsibility for any repercussions of any use. Use at your own risk.

Here are some screen grabs.

A screen grab from the documentation of the Sharp MZ font.

A screen grab from the documentation of the Sharp MZ font.

Another screen grab from the documentation of the Sharp MZ font.

Another screen grab from the documentation of the Sharp MZ font.

 

More pointlessness.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

