Using Mate desktop by default in cygwin

This is a reminder-to-self post.

I wanted to set up the MATE desktop as my default X windows environment on cygwin. I dug through the docs and eventually found what I needed in a footnote at http://x.cygwin.com/docs/ug/using.html#FTN.footnote-cli-startx-session. I am only making this short posting because this useful info was buried in a footnote and I’ll probably forget where I found it.

So the commands I ran were simply:

$ echo "/usr/bin/dbus-launch mate-session" > ~/.xinitrc
$ startx &

All this does is create the command line to start MATE and stick it into my local .xinitrc so that when I launch X via startx I get MATE. Note that it will overwrite any existing .xinitrc, so you might want to insert the line manually rather than via echo.

 

MATE desktop running on cygwin/X on Windows 7 on a netbook.

MATE desktop running on cygwin/X on Windows 7 on a netbook.

 

(I find the best way to use cygwin is to launch the basic cygwin terminal [rather than just the cygwin bash shell] then launch other stuff from there.)

Vaguely related.

Tags: , , , ,

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

