James White Award. Another Near Miss

Two years in a row I have submitted a piece of fiction to the James White award.  Two years in a row I made the short list.  Apparently this is  unprecedented.  Therefore I can safely conclude that missing out by such a narrow margin two years in a row is also unprecedented. Something to take away, I suppose.

Better to get that close than less close.

James White, if you don’t know, wrote high quality magazine SF in the 50s and onwards, often centred around interesting aliens and their medical problems.  I have never watched it but I’ve read that Babylon 5 shows rather a lot of similarities to his most famous setting, the Sector General Hospital/Space Station.  There is much about his work that is attractive, and it would be nice to be associated with him via the award… ah well, maybe next year…

About Darren

I'm a scientist by training, based in Australia.

Leave a Reply

